Henry Morgan

Nightmares Incarnate

Scopophobia – Fear of Being Watched

Nyctophobia – Fear of Darkness

Paralyphobia – Fear of Petrification

When taking my photographs, I encountered many challenges with each photo. For example, in the Fear of Petrification photo, trying to make the stone texture on Keegan’s face apply on only where he is black and white. Another example is also when I was struggling to make the eyes in the Fear of Being Watched photo properly blend in with the background. Even with both of these challenges, the greatest one I faced was trying to make the shadow effect in the Fear of Darkness photo. Originally, I tried to simply darken the exposure on a single photo and apply a mask to the effect, but it looked too artificial. I decided it would be better if I took two photos, one with me in frame with the lights on, and another with me out of the frame with the lights off. I placed the second photo over the first, and created a feathered mask near halfway, creating the effect present in the photo. After this, I found a stock image of a hand reaching, selected it, and applied the selection to the mask, creating the outstretching shadow hand. Looking back at all the processes I utilized for the different images, admittedly, many could have been a lot simpler. It may be bias, but even with this knowledge I think the more complicated editing still looks better because with it I can achieve a greater amount of detail.

Next Post

Previous Post

1 Comment

  1. seanmce25 December 20, 2023

    What I like most about this photo is that Henry did a great job with making it seem the dark hand was coming to grab him. The balance in the image between the light and the dark is very good. It looks very realistic and real and is overall really good. One thing he could have done better is maybe make even more convincing with the hand that it coming to get you. You could do this by doing two hands on the image. A left hand and a right hand would make this even better and complete it even more. One piece of advice I have for the photographer to help him make his work better next time is to make it look a little bit more complete. You could do this by making it even more dark. The little details do big things but the picture is already amazing.

Leave a Reply

© 2024 Henry Morgan

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar